top of page

Bangladeshi students struggle to get a first study permit

I am a defer student from Bangladesh. In 2020, I received study place at University of Helsinki. Although it was a joyous moment for me, I have heard and read about the struggles that the Bangladeshi students have to face for RP. We have to travel to India for the interview. As a female candidate, I was afraid to go to India alone because as a South Asian woman, I am concern about my safety issue because I am well aware of the burgeoning culture of sexual harassment in this region. Besides, it is extremely costly for my family. Therefore, despite being a scholarship holder, I did not process my documents and started to look for other options. But now, COVID-19 has hit hard in India and added another problem.


The Bangladeshi candidates who applied for RP in 2020 have not got appointment yet. And me? I have not still applied for it.


I am being squeezed down with multifaceted problems- health, safety and security, economic and time. I am struggling with anxiety and stress.

-- Please sign the petition: bit.ly/ReformMigri

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page