top of page

Unrealistically longer processing time for spouses

My wife was not able to apply for family residence permit for more than a year due to Covid lockdown in Asian countries and embassy being shut. Still she has not managed to get an appointment date.


According to Migri statistics, there are less than 200 first time applicants from my home country but still it takes 4-5 months (not counting Covid) to get an appointment for identity verification. I am wondering how many appointments is the embassy handling in a day! And this is just verifying the identity and not making decisions. If I handle the same number of customers in a day in my job in Finland, my company would fire me.


Even after my wife manages to get an appointment soon, Migri website says that "they are in summer holiday" and processing time is 9 months. Seriously 9 months to verify that the I am a tax payer! , that my current employer is legitimate!, that my salary slip is not forged!, that bank statements from Nordea are not tampered!!


--

Please sign the petition: bit.ly/ReformMigri


172 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page