top of page

Highly-skilled AI-professional feels unwelcome and mentally abused

I moved to Finland 4 years ago for higher studies and was among the first batch of international students paying the tuition fees. Initially, I have had a good experience with Migri and the processing of my first residence permit. Migri has only gotten worse in subsequent years. However, since then I have completed my studies, graduated with one of the most in-demand master's degree/skill globally i.e. artificial intelligence, from Finland's best-ranked university, found a job, and been working since few years that I still don't feel welcomed in this country because of Migri, or at least it being the front face of the Finnish immigration laws.


After visiting Migri's office every year being a student, paying the processing fee, and finally applying for a work permit (which to be honest was processed very fast via its newly introduced e-identification system), my work residence permit was tied to my job contract, 2 years and few months. A lot of people might think I am speaking from a position of privilege and being ungrateful among the so many other unfortunate affectees. But it is the complete opposite, despite having made it through up until my next visit, I refuse to be grateful and apologetic for being allowed to be a taxpayer in Finland and stand in complete solidarity with those affected in a far worse manner. The crux being, my stay in Finland is tied to a time-limited work residence permit and I am left at the mercy of Migri for as long as they can put me on the leash, instead of being welcoming now that I have studied here, been assimilated with the society and work in IT.


My story needs to be heard and shared so that the other stories are not taken for granted. It must be told that yes there are professionals who contributed to the society since arrival, earns higher than the median salary but are still worried about managing their stay because of the sword hanging on their head.


This affects me in many ways. I cannot plan to get a mortgage for a house, start a family and settle down. Hence, the feeling of unwelcomeness.

I am very confident in my skill set that I will get the job, in this country or the next, but I can no longer stay silent and take the mental abuse. Migri must reform. I must not be made feel unwelcomed.

--

Please sign the petition: bit.ly/ReformMigri

276 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page