top of page

ICU nurse facing deportation due to a baseless allegation by Migri plans to sue for defamation



My name is Anuka (Anudari Boldbaatar) and I would be grateful if my story would also be shared among the many others that are suffering due to the unjust treatment of immigrants by Migri.


I’m a nurse from Mongolia and I’ve been living in Finland for the last four years. I came to study nursing, graduated last summer, and am currently working at the ICU in Meilahti taking care of, among others, COVID patients. In the peak of the pandemic in December 2020, after five months of waiting on the decision on the residence permit to look for work (even though I had a job, I had a temporary work contact, not a permanent one),



I was called to the police and informed that the decision on the permit was negative and that I was issued a deportation decision and an entry ban into the Schengen area for two years.

The reasoning for these decisions were classified, except for a sentence saying it relates to forgery in my income documents, so even the police could not give me more information.


Here I have to mention that I have no criminal history, nor do my family and friends. I have been a tax-paying member of society since my arrival in Finland, paying tuition and working part-time until I started working full-time upon graduating. I even completed my three and a half year program in three years with excellent grades. My income documents were work contracts from HUS and Helsinki City, both public health organisations, salary slips from Nordea online banking and my full bank transaction statements, which in modern day Finland are impossible to forge. I have hired a lawyer and made an appeal which takes at least a year to process by Migri. They, in turn, have forwarded whatever proof of “forgery” they have to the police. I am meeting them at the end of May and hopefully then they will put an end to this craziness. The sad part is that I was supposed to move to Scotland to be with my husband, whom I wed two weeks before this ordeal started. Naturally, due to the ongoing investigation, I cannot apply for a Scottish visa, thus, I am, in practice, stuck in Finland due to their deportation decision. Oh, the irony! Needless to say, this situation has taken a huge toll on my mental health with me having to turn to mental health services. I have already been contacted by reporters from MTV uutiset and Yle. The hope is that they will run a story on me when I am proven innocent. When that happens, I also plan to sue Migri for defamation.

-- Please sign the petition: bit.ly/ReformMigri

10,709 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page